Ifilm App Android
فارسی عربي

A portrait of Iranian sound designer Alireza Alavian

Read on to know more about Iran's master of sound design Alireza Alavian.

Alireza Alavian, born on December 17, 1979, in Tehran, is a distinguished sound designer in Iranian cinema.

His journey in the world of sound design began in 2001 as a dubbing assistant.

By 2004, Alavian made his mark in professional cinema with the dubbing of Fereydoun Jeyrani’s film ‘Seasonal Salad’.

Over the years, he has collaborated with prominent directors spanning three generations of Iranian cinema.

Alavian’s skill and dedication have earned him numerous accolades, making him a celebrated figure in the industry.

He earned Iran's first international award for sound design with his work on the short film 'Beyond the Dead End' at the California International Short Film Festival.

His talent in sound mix and editing has been recognized repeatedly at the Fajr International Film Festival.

In 2010, he received the Crystal Simorgh for Best Sound Mix and Editing for the film ‘Anahita’.

He continued this streak by winning the same award in 2014 for ‘Chamran’, in 2017 for ‘No Date, No Signature’, and in 2018 for both ‘Damascus Time’ and ‘Sheeple’.

Alavian’s impressive portfolio includes a wide array of films such as ‘Santouri’, ‘I Am a Mother’, ‘The Last Step’, ‘Notoriety’, ‘The Corridor’, ‘Absolute Rest’, ‘Wednesday, May 9’, ‘Deportees 2’, ‘Atabai’, ‘Amphibious’, ‘Killer Spider’, ‘Without Everything’, Pinto, ‘No Prior Appointment’ and ‘Killing a Traitor’.

His expertise as a sound designer has also contributed to the success of films like ‘Bodyguard’, ‘Hello Mumbai’, ‘Chamran’, ‘Istanbul Junction’ and ‘Damascus Time’, which have been screened on iFilm English.

In addition to his work in film, Alavian has made significant contributions to television. His sound design can be heard in series such as ‘Remembrance’, ‘Where to in Such a Hurry?’ and ‘The Water Fairy’, which are well-known to iFilmers.

iFilm English website wishes Alireza Alavian continued success in his future endeavors. We look forward to seeing more of his outstanding work in the years to come.

More profile articles:

Touraj Mansouri

Darioush Mehrjouee

Shahab Hosseini

Majid Entezami

Saeed Nikpour

Kamand Amir-Soleymani

Mahmoud Pakniyyat

Farhad Fakhreddini

Akbar Abdi

Hossein Soheilizadeh

Gholamreza Ramezani

Farajollah Salahshour

Seifollah Daad

Bahram Tavakkoli

Ebrahim Forouzesh

Amir Jadidi

Ebrahim Hatamikia

Ali Nasiriyan

Sorayya Qasemi

Yadollah Samadi

Bita Farrahi

Amir-Mohammad Zand 

Mahmoudi brothers

Laya Zanganeh

Behrang Tofiqi

Hamid Labkhandeh

Abdollah Eskandari

Jalal Moayyerian

Mehri Shirazi

Bijan Mohtasham

Morteza Kohzadi

Mahmoud Kalari

Morteza Najafi

Peyman Shadmanfar

Farshad Golsefidi

Alireza Zarrin-Dast

Hamid Khozouee Abyaneh

Reza Sheikhi

Morteza Hodaee

Mohammad Aladpoush

Mohammad Reza Delpak

Mehrdad Jelokhani

Arash Qasemi

Hossein Abolsedq